This section shines some light on why Jiffy needs so many permissions, even though it is ‘just’ a time tracker.

With jiffy, we want to take time tracking to the next level. We want it to be able to support and help you, using information that is already available on your device.

Ideally, we would be able to ask for permission when a certain feature is being used. Unfortunately, that is not how Android works. Which is why we, when Jiffy is being installed, must ask for all the permissions that we need – for all the features available in the current version. No matter if you will end up using it or not.

  • VIEW WI-FI CONNECTIONS & PRECISE LOCATION (GPS & NETWORK-BASED)
    Storing the position where you started/stopped time tracking, is shown in the projects status screen. This data is only for you, your devices and synchronization. We don’t use this externally (except if you use sync) or give this information to any 3rd party. To save battery it will only try to locate you for maximum 5 minutes or shorter if it gets a accurate enough position. GPS will not be used because of battery consumption.
  • FULL NETWORK ACCESS
    Need this for backup and preparation for synchronisation between devices
  • READ YOUR CONTACTS
    Uses the contacts company field to help you input, via auto-complete, the company name in new projects. Only internal use, the data is not sent anywhere.
  • MODIFY OR DELETE THE CONTENTS OF YOUR USB STORAGE /SD CARD
    Necessary for the backup/restore and export functionality
  • READ GOOGLE SERVICE CONFIGURATION
    Used for backup
  • RUN AT STARTUP
    Used for the app to be able to recreate the notifications and continue the current running time after reboot.
  • ACCESS TO PROTECTED STORAGE
    Necessary for the backup/restore and export functionality
  • ADD OR REMOVE ACCOUNTS, USE ACCOUNTS ON THE DEVICE
    Used for backup to Google Drive
  • NFC
    Use JiffyTags (NFC) to start and stop projects.
  • WAKE_LOCK
    Making sure that your Auto backup can be run even when the phone is off